ADHD: Dev Retro 2022

·

2 min read

Or is it anxiety disorder?

I have short-term memory, otherwise, I would have tried to compare this year with the one before it. I don't do that. All I remember is the beginning of the lockdown in 2020 when I lost my flight tickets to South America! That I remember, sure!

Web 3.0

It was there already, and it is still here, and it just proved to be a stubborn buzzword. Die already!

Blogging

I started blogging on multiple platforms, but the more I blogged, the more I realized there were a gazillion other people who said the same things, so I stopped reading what others were writing.

SvelteKit 1.0

I created a personal blog on SvelteKit before version 1.0. Then when it was time to upgrade, I had to redo a good part of it. Mainly the routing. Configurations, typing, models, and services; those I did not have to rewrite. It struck me then, I have become a "seasoned developer!"

Static site generation

Decided to make my own static site generation builder in Angular, to save myself the carnival I had to watch every time I visited an SSG article. I went back to the roots: if it works, then it's proper.

YouTube

Everybody's creating a new channel. This is what happens when you create a channel encouraging everybody to create their own channel. So I decided to start reading books instead. It is by far more satisfying, especially with Kindle.

Online services

This has been a great year for online services. There are so many I probably would find one if I just sneezed at the browser. From auto-correcting plugins to intelligent sound de-scripting. And it is all free. Almost! Adobe acquired Figma, wait for it to become super expensive. Or die.

Overqualified

This year was the first year in my last decade in which I had to hunt for a full-time job. All of a sudden, I am overqualified. So I decided to—wait for it—create my own YouTube channel.

New developers

I feel sorry for the new generation. Not for the umpteen things they have to learn to get into development, nor for the mountain of noise they have to sort through, but because they still haven't acquired the skill to ignore. Don't jump on the bandwagon too early, kids. Pick your battles. We had it easy. Once there was WordPress. Then there was havoc!

Is it ADHD or anxiety disorder?

This is what happens when you watch too many YouTube videos. You find out that your lack of attention for a 10-minute video could be named... either.